Pictured: Drew Nye passed for 3,168 yards and 44 touchdowns against only nine interceptions in his final season with the Huskies. (Photo by Paul Augeri)

By Marc Silvestrini

CLINTON – Drew Nye, The Morgan School’s record-setting, All-State quarterback, will continue his football career next fall at Oberlin College, an NCAA Division III school about 31 miles southwest of Cleveland in north central Ohio.

Oberlin has been playing college football since 1891 and was the first stop in the legendary coaching career of John W. Heisman.

Nye said he chose Oberlin because of his desire to continue playing football and because he felt the small-town liberal arts college was “the right fit for me.”

“I spent a lot of time researching the college and its football program and everything about it just felt right to me,” he said, adding that he “really hit it off” and respected the program’s coaching staff and head coach Steve Opgenorth.

Oberlin plays in the 10-team North Coast Athletic Conference with such schools as Depauw, Ohio Wesleyan, Wabash and Denison.

The 6-foot-2, 175-pound Nye said the team’s starting quarterback will return for his senior season this fall and that he is hoping to spend his freshman campaign learning from him before competing for the starting job as a sophomore.

“I just think it’s a great situation for me,” he said.

Nye, who holds virtually every Morgan passing record, enjoyed a spectacular senior season in which he threw for 3,168 yards and 44 touchdowns against only nine interceptions. His career totals are 5,060 yards and 63 TDs.

He enjoyed his finest moment in late October when he passed for 448 yards and seven touchdowns, just two off the state record of nine, against a previously unbeaten Coginchaug/Hale-Ray/East Hampton team. Morgan qualified for the postseason for the first time since 2015, losing in the first round to Bloomfield in Class S.

As a New Haven Register First Team All State selection, Nye was the first Morgan quarterback selected since Tim Dunn in 1975. Nye’s accolades include All-Pequot Sassacus Division First Team, Pequot Sassacus Player of the Year and Connecticut High School Coaches Association Class S All-State.

Nye starts at forward for the Morgan basketball team. The Huskies begin defense of their Shoreline Conference championship next Saturday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *