Pictured: Jake Burdick had 23 goals and 12 assists in his senior season with Valley Regional. (Submitted photo)

By Paul Augeri

Valley Regional midfielder Jake Burdick leads the 2021 First Team All-Shoreline Conference selections as Player of the Year after producing 23 goals and 12 assists in his final season with the Warriors.

Burdick, who was a First Team pick for the third time, also earned All State and All New England accolades for the second year in a row. He was voted to All State in Class S this year and in Class M in 2019.

“Over the four years coaching Jake, I was extremely impressed with his awareness and vision on the pitch, which you do not see in many high school players,” Valley Regional coach Mick Fearon said.

Led by Burdick and fellow Shoreline first teamer Tucker Burr, the Warriors reached the quarterfinal round of the Class S tournament, where they lost in overtime to eventual champion Old Saybrook.

Three players from Old Saybrook and three from Morgan also headlined the First Team All Shoreline. The Rams, who won the Class S title for a third straight time, and the Huskies shared the Shoreline championship after playing to a scoreless draw on Nov. 5.

Portland’s Mike Searson was voted Shoreline Coach of the Year after leading the Highlanders to a 10-7-2 record and second-round appearance in the Class S tournament.

Shoreline coaches cast their votes at the conclusion of the regular season.

First Team

JAKE BURDICK, Sr. Midfielder, Valley Regional

CAMERON DeANGELO, Jr. Forward, Old Saybrook

TYLER MUCHA, Sr. Defender, Morgan

TUCKER BURR, Sr. Midfielder, Valley Regional

CAIDEN HETTRICK-RIVERA, Sr. Midfielder, Portland

BRADY TALERICO, Sr. Midfielder, Portland

SEBASTIAN KADLOF, Jr.  Midfielder, Morgan

PAUL PIGNATELLA, Sr. Defender, East Hampton

KEVIN DeCAPUA, Soph. Forward, Old Saybrook

COLE MERRIAM, Soph. Forward, Haddam-Killingworth

NICK SCALZO, Sr. Defender, Old Saybrook

BEN WILLIAMS, Sr. Defender, Haddam-Killingworth

AUSTIN ANTONARAS, Sr. Defender, Cromwell

BAILEY GOSS, Sr. Goalkeeper, Morgan

Second Team

ANDREW SALBINSKI, Sr. Defender, Valley Regional

NICK ROTHMAN, Sr. Forward, Old Saybrook

ALEX GALLARDO, Sr. Defender, Morgan

JACK DeTORO, Sr. Forward, Portland

SAM HUTCHINSON, Jr. Defender, Valley Regional

BRADLEY KULMANN, Jr. Midfielder, Old Saybrook

JOE MORSE, Jr. Defender, Morgan

ANDERS SILBERBERG, Jr. Midfielder, Old Lyme

LOGAN FOX, Sr. Forward, Cromwell

LUKE KARPIEJ, Sr. Midfielder, Hale-Ray

RYAN ENGELS, Jr. Goalkeeper, Westbrook

MICHAEL KOLLMER, Jr. Forward, Valley Regional

JAYDEN ZAITOUN, Sr. Defender, Haddam-Killingworth

JONAH LATHROP, Jr. Goalkeeper, Old Lyme

Honorable Mention

BRAYDEN CODY, Soph. Midfielder, Old Saybrook

JAKE McKENNA, Fr. Forward, Valley Regional

EVAN JOHNSON, Sr. Defender, Portland

ZACH DONCET, Sr. Goalkeeper, Portland

RYAN LASUSA, Soph. Midfielder, Haddam-Killingworth

DREW DeSTEFANO, Sr. Goalkeeper, East Hampton

HERMINIO VIVEIROS, Sr. Defender, East Hampton

BRENNAN JOHNSON, Jr. Midfielder, East Hampton

LIAM CELIC, Jr. Midfielder, Old Lyme

JACOB SALAFIA, Jr. Midfielder, Cromwell

LOUDON CHUPAS, Sr. Goalkeeper, Hale-Ray

GAGE ROVELLI, Sr. Defender, Coginchaug

LEO DiLEONE, Sr. Midfielder, Coginchaug

HENRIK GUSTAFSON, Jr. Midfielder, Westbrook

ALEKSANDER GUERRERO, Fr. Defender, North Branford

NIKOLAS PROESTAKIS, Sr. Midfielder, North Branford

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *