Pictured: Old Saybrook midfielder Colin Schulmeister (5), in a Shoreline tournament game against Cromwell, was a First Team selection along with teammate Shon Ryan.

Seniors Colin Schulmeister and Shon Ryan of Class S soccer champion Old Saybrook were among the 14 players named to the All-Shoreline Conference First Team in voting by the league’s coaches.

Schulmeister’s season highlight reel included two goals in a 3-1 overtime victory over Holy Cross, which gave the Rams their second straight Class S title. In the semifinal round, Ryan converted a penalty kick in overtime, which was the deciding goal in a 4-3 win over Cromwell.

Morgan was the only team with three All-Shoreline selections: seniors Zach Tuccitto and Alex Kadlof and junior Sean Cafferty. Portland was one of four teams with two representatives: senior goalkeeper Bryan Dinnis and midfielder Brady Talerico, one of two sophomores selected.

Cromwell senior Anthony Caracoglia, who scored 10 goals in four Class S tournament games, was the lone Panther on the First Team.

Old Saybrook’s Sam Barnes was voted Shoreline Coach of the Year in his final season after 31 overall with the program, the last 26 as head coach.

“What a great season for us. Amazing finish,” Barnes said.

Bryant Micks of Valley Regional was voted Assistant Coach of the Year and North Branford’s team was recognized for its sportsmanship.

Rivals Morgan and Old Saybrook were the conference’s co-champions after playing to a 2-2 overtime tie in the tournament final.

The complete lists of All-Shoreline picks, with position and year in school:

First Team

  • Colin Schulmeister, Old Saybrook, Midfielder, Senior
  • Anthony Gavrilovic, Coginchaug, MF, Senior
  • Zach Tuccitto, Morgan, Forward, Senior
  • Shon Ryan, Old Saybrook, MF, Senior
  • Anthony Caracoglia, Cromwell, F, Senior
  • Jake Burdick, Valley Regional, MF, Sophomore
  • Sean Cafferty, Morgan, MF, Junior
  • Brady Talerico, Portland, MF, Sophomore
  • Bryan Dinnis, Portland, GK, Senior
  • Michael Quinn, Hale-Ray, MF, Senior
  • Alex Kadlof, Morgan, Back, Senior
  • Ethan Howley, Hale-Ray, B, Senior
  • Max Temple, Coginchaug, MF, Senior
  • Michael Milazzo, Old Lyme, MF, Junior

Second Team

  • Cameron Frazier, Valley Regional, MF, Senior
  • Evan Hempel, Coginchaug, MF, Senior
  • Gannon Effinger, Old Saybrook, MF, Junior
  • Jayden Schoeps, Portland, B, Senior
  • Matt Rothman, Old Saybrook, GK, Junior
  • Cooper Luciani, Old Saybrook, MF, Senior
  • Matt Taylor, Coginchaug, MF, Senior
  • Josh Doering, Portland, MF, Senior
  • Tommy Pragano, East Hampton, B Senior
  • Matt Skidmore, Morgan, MF, Junior
  • Ben Williams, H-K, F, Sophomore
  • Andrew Sellitto, North Branford, MF, Junior
  • Sid Levine, Westbrook, F, Senior
  • Erik Swanson, Coginchaug, B, Senior

Honorable Mention

  • Nate Rice, Morgan, B, Senior
  • Tyler Mucha, Morgan, B, Sophomore
  • Kevin Ryan, Coginchaug, B, Sophomore
  • Caiden Hettrick-Rivera, Portland, MF, Sophomore
  • Matt Conroy, Hale-Ray, MF, Junior
  • Carter Rafala, Hale-Ray, MF, Senior
  • Jonathan Perry, Hale-Ray, F, Senior
  • Carter Newman, Cromwell, B, Senior
  • James Grodzicki, Cromwell, GK, Junior
  • Zack Randazzo, Cromwell, F, Junior
  • Keenan Pindar, Valley Regional, F, Junior
  • Ryan Tetreault, Old Lyme, GK, Senior
  • Jasper Silberberg, Old Lyme, MF, Junior
  • Noah Gibson, East Hampton, GK, Senior
  • Cooper Whitehouse, Westbrook, MF, Junior
  • Colby Whitehead, H-K, MF, Junior
  • Eli Roessler, North Branford, B, Senior

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *